The Education Awards 2019

Say thank you to a member of staff who has made a difference to your Sussex experience by nominating them for an Education Award.

Nominate a member of staff for an award

You can recommend an inspiring academic or supportive staff member for an Education Award.

This is your opportunity to get someone recognised for having a positive impact on your studies.

For example, you could put forward someone who has:

  • gone above and beyond to help you
  • inspired you with their creative approach to teaching
  • encouraged you to pursue your passion.

We want to hear about those outstanding people who make studying at Sussex a great experience.

Award categories

There are five awards categories, allowing you to acknowledge staff from across the University.

Awards for any member of staff

Sussex Spirit Award: This is for people who demonstrate our values of kindness, integrity, inclusion, collaboration and courage. This could be a staff member who has gone out of their way to help you or others, or who always tries to work collaboratively with their students or other members of staff.

Transformative Technology Award: This is for staff who use technology in interesting and innovative ways to enhance your learning experience. It could be new, leading-edge technology or using existing technology in a new way.

The Better World Award: This will recognise staff who are having a positive impact in our local community and beyond. These are people who make sure community engagement is part of the curriculum.

Award for a team of staff and students

The Learning Together Award is for staff who have worked with you to help you feel part of your teaching experience. Maybe you worked with them on a research project or collaborated on redesigning the curriculum. You should nominate a team made up of staff and students who have worked together.

Award for academic teaching staff

The Teaching to Disrupt Award recognises teaching staff who dare to be different in their approach to teaching. These are people who have inspired you to think critically or in an entrepreneurial way through their innovative and pioneering teaching.

Submitting your nomination

Nominations for The Education Awards are now closed. The shortlists will be announced shortly.